Artistic
background of Mathieu Collette

MathieuColletteForgeDamas

Mathieu’s career now takes a new turn and he can apply the findings from his years of research and finally craft objects of his own, inspired from the classical blacksmithing traditions.

Mathieu Collette found out only recently that he springs from the bloodline of theRobichon family, who came from Burgundy in France to run the smithies at the famousForges du Saint-Maurice in New France.

However it was rather a childhood passion for cutlery and the arts of fire that brought him to realize during a brief stay in France that he wished to start an apprenticeship.

Through the Office Franco-québécois pour la jeunesse (OFQJ) he spends four years with an ironworker artist in Agen, in the South-West of France enrolled in a craftstmen’s training program. The very existence of such programs shows how well the French value their traditional trades. Days at his master’s anvil are interspersed with lectures on ironworking and toolsmithing.

Curious and motivated, Mathieu also decides to spend  time with Henri Sabatier, a blacksmith and cutler. He even seeks out André Maltaverne (winner of the prestigious “Meilleur Ouvrier de France” Award), a senior of mechanical toolsmithing. There he learns the keen delicacy of the trade and the subtle science of properly picking and treating the right steels for specific uses.

Mathieu Collette’s  apprenticeship is crowned with the  Exemplary Mention and First Prize of the SEMA  — now INNA —  (the French National Institute of Crafts). Back in Québec in 1997 he receives from the mayor of Chambly, Mrs Louise Beaudoin, a «Certificat des meilleures retombées durables» (certificate for the best lasting impact) in recognition of his apprenticeship in France.

Mathieu then proceeded to develop a truly impressive range of skills. He became known as the only ironworker able to produce the most peculiar architects’ and designers’ creations. He wins the François-Houdé prize (1998) for Excellence in new craftsmanship in Montréal with Ève — a damascus table — a joint collaboration between the Ville de Montréal and the Conseil des métiers d’art du Québec. He oversees the restoration of antique ironwork such as the gates of Notre-Dame basillica in Old Montreal. Most of the pieces in the Forges portfolio have seen the light of day under Mathieu Collette’s supervision or have been made from his very own hammer.

Preoccupied by the disappearance of the blacksmith’s trade and related tradition, Mathieu founded and actively supports an organization devoted to their preservation and promotion: Les Forges de Montréal.

His enduring passion for cutlery and toolsmithing, the high regard in which he holds noble and damask wrought steels, drives him to experiment with techniques and medias shared by other craftsmen or gleaned from other traditions. Mathieu’s career now takes a new turn and he can apply the findings from his years of research and finally craft objects of his own, inspired from the classical blacksmithing traditions.

Parcours artistique de Mathieu Collette

MathieuColletteForgeDamas

Mathieu Collette entreprend désormais d’appliquer les fruits de ses recherches passées à finalement fabriquer les objets de son cru, inspirés des traditions classiques de taillanderie et de forge d’arme, mais empreint de la touche esthétique, artistique qui lui est propre.

Ce n’est que tout récemment que Mathieu Collette apprend qu’il est descendant direct dans la lignée des Robichon, forgerons aux célèbres Forges du St-Maurice en Nouvelle-France, originaires de Bourgogne.

À l’origine se trouve plutôt l’occasion de visiter une passion d’enfance pour la coutellerie et les arts du feu, lors d’un bref séjour en France, qui le pousse à s’engager en apprentissage.

Par le biais de l’Office Franco-québécois pour la jeunesse (OFQJ), il passe quatre années auprès d’un ferronier d’art à Agen, dans le sud-ouest français, grâce à un programme de formation des artisans qui caractérise l’importance accordée par les Français à leurs métiers. Des cours théoriques de ferronnerie et de serrurerie sont entremêlés dans un horaire passé surtout à l’enclume à travailler pour son maître.

Entre-temps, par intérêt et curiosité, il prend l’initiative de visiter régulièrement Henri Sabatier, un forgeron-coutelier et André Maltaverne, un MOF (Meilleurs Ouvriers de France), doyen de la forge mécanique chez qui il apprend la finesse du travail et les subtilités de la performance des aciers selon leur fonction.

Mathieu complète son apprentissage avec une «Mention exemplaire» et le «Premier prix» de la formation aux métiers d’art de la SEMA (maintenant INNA). À son retour au Québec, en 1997, il reçoit également des mains de la député de Chambly, Mme Louise Beaudoin, un « Certificat des meilleures retombées durables » pour son apprentissage en France dans le cadre des activités de l’OFQJ.

Mathieu entreprend alors de développer un éventail de compétences à couper le souffle: les designers et les architectes les plus excentriques finissent par s’en remettre au seul ferronier capable de réaliser leurs créations. Il gagne le prix François-Houdé (1998) pour sa table en damassé Ève, programme conjoint de la Ville de Montréal et du Conseil des Métiers d’art du Québec et dirige la restauration de travaux de forge anciens comme les grilles de la Basilique Notre-Dame dans le Vieux-Montréal.

Préoccupé par la menace de disparition du métier et des traditions de forge, Mathieu s’investit à fonder et promouvoir un organisme à but non lucratif visant à préserver les grandes traditions de forge: Les Forges de Montréal.

Aujourd’hui sa passion pour les aciers nobles et damassés brûle d’autant plus que les quinze dernières années dévouées à l’exploration des médiums et la recherche esthétique commence à porter fruit. Sa carrière entre dans un nouveau chapitre et Mathieu entreprend désormais d’appliquer les fruits de ses recherches passées à finalement fabriquer les objets de son cru, inspirés des traditions classiques de taillanderie et de forge d’arme, mais empreint de la touche esthétique, artistique qui lui est propre.